2017 Semi-Finalists

In order to choose the Grand Prize and Honorable Mention winners for Screenplay Festival, there are three rounds to the competition. In the first round, every script is read by at least two judges and rated regardless of genre. The screenplays with the highest ratings move into the second round, or the Semi-Final Round. The scripts listed below made it through this process and deserve recognition as Screenplay Festival Semi-Finalists.

The most frequent question we get asked is, “What percentage placement does being a Semi-Finalist make me?”  This year, the Semi-Finalists represent the top 50% of entries that we receive.  Yes, we received so many entries this year that the judges agreed to let more scripts into the second round.

We appreciate everyone’s hard work and would again like to congratulate everyone for their great writing!

2017 Semi-Finalists

Movie Script – Action / Adventure

Abe Lincoln: Public Enemy No. 1 – Bill Walker
Annie Oakley – Ernest Ledvina
Before You Die – Alexander James
Black Jack – Stephen Curran
Bliss – Preston Jones
Blood Runs Red – James Gilbertsen
Breakout To Mexico – David Kurtz
Code: Delete – Anthony Moore
Dark Alliance – Michael Casey
Dead End (Mace) – Michael Buchanan
Derelict Abandon – Zachary Closs
Dollar Down – J. Michael Aiken
End of the Line – Erik V Wolter
Facsimile – Gary Makin
Freak – Connor Bethel
Green Tony – András Lipták
Hippocalypse – Madison Auten
Illinois Death Race – or – Talitha Koum – Jake Baskin
Junk Shop – Michael Bommer
Leaving Town – Stephen Curran
Los Huesos – Daniel Daskalakis
N3 – Chris Rakotomamonjy
Nauti Girls – Linda Toussaint
One Love One Quest – Paul Banks
Para Ser Un Nino -Andrew Dailey
Patty Cage and the Spirit of the Congo – chris Herlihy
Promise – John T. Frederick
Runaway Ship – Theodore Carl Soderberg
S.E.R.E. – Shadow Uprising – Tom Costabile
Seemingly Harmonious – dengxian cao
Sister Terry – Mark Perlick
Starring…John Dillinger – Bill Walker
Supernetics – Nolan Bryand
The Antiquity – Ronald Ecker
The Brothers Fury – Dane McCauley
The Capitulation of California – David Lovret
The Distributor – Russell Chan
The New Generation – alexander doychinov
The Oscar by Julia Liberman – Julia Liberman
The Salt Box – Robert J. Rogers
The Sandbox – math saliva
The Underground Adventures of Daniel Hutton – Maurizio Lai
The Utimate Quest – Michael Pallotta
Time Zero – Carlo Carere
Western Dragons – John T. Frederick
When I Was A Child – Terry Needham

Movie Script – Comedy

A very white Christmas – Madeleine Gentinetta
Babble On – Lisa Jacobs
Black Friday – Alex Pickens
Cornsters – Susan Boger
Heartthrob – Joe Packer
Holding Hope’s Hand – James Rucker IV
My Atari Christmas – CC Parrish
Pageant Dad – Liam Healy
Pete Simon – Agent of God – Mitch Emoff
Quill – Edward Hicklin
Simplest Terms – Desiree Moshayedi
Stacey – Steve Hanisch
Table For Four – Jim Norman
Teddy Cop – Seth Hendricksen
The Boning, an almost broad comedy – Hamilton Mitchell
The Dumbest Generation – Leslie Lyshkov
The Favorite Haunt – Edward Hicklin
The Gangs of Minnesota – Mark Perlick
The Memphis Mafia – Jason Williams
The Missile – Richard Geiwitz
Things To Do Before Leaving – James Byrne
VietCom – Steve Hanisch
Wipe – Edward Hicklin
You Can Always Lie – Nic Mirabelli

Movie Script – Drama

Akatewa – Jean-Marie MAZALEYRAT
Austin! A Love Story – Keith Carey
Ava and the Accountant – Bill Walker
Beasts of Ephesus – Jared Bradley
Before We Begin – Andrea Mason
Bella & The Bear – Nicholas Clifford
Cell-2-Cell – Bob Canning
Christopher Marlowe – Francis Hamit
Clash Of Iron – Richard Reed
Disgruntled Postman – Tim Collins
Endgame – Robert Rice
Evacuation – Lois Simenson
Foosball Tribes – Matthew Johnson
Gods and Guns – Ken Floyd
It’s Only Justice, Part I – David Frank
Lion Killer – Adam Scheiner
Nick Pope – Chris Stanton
Nour – Maitha Alawadi
Our Hearts Go Out – Bradley Greenburg
Recenge Of The Christ – Ruben Varela
Shadows – Richard Geiwitz
Shine Your Eyes – Clint Pearson
Silent War – Debanjan Mukhopadhyay
Song of the Toadfish – David Hill
Spirit Rocks – Kevin McCarthy
Squid Jiggers – Judi Blaze
Stealing Right From Wrong – Dane McCauley
Such Times as These – Elliott Ohannes
Taking Down The Met – Andrea Forrest
The Doctor Will See You Now. – rory waltzer
The Door – Robert Cox
The First Time For Penny – Janice Walker
The Foxes And The Wolves – Robert Laffin
The Ghosts of Silver Gulch – Bob Canning
The Good Fight – Richard Geiwitz
The Last Monster – Thaddeus Yeiser
The laugh – Carlos Bouadi Padilla
The Music Box – Stephen Curran
The Prosecutor and the Prostitute – Justin Wilson
The Provinces – Sinan Cevik
The Red Shoes – Tina Love
The Tent – Marcus Stricklin
The Wanderer – Ariel Rejae
Two women – annette siegal

Movie Script – Thriller / Horror

6 & 7 – George Hernandez
Bunnyman Bridge – Colin Stewart
Can You Smell The Flowers? – Malcolm Holt
Damnation – Nicolas Caicoya
Devil to Pay – Kemmy Moran
Fall Not Into Darkness – Philip Hogan
High Woods – Olivia Armstrong
In Cotton Wood (early) – Mark Walsh
Lake – Ian Bonser
Lying Eyes – Dane McCauley
M – Demon Killer – Mark Hammond
Muffled – Joe Borriello
Necromancer – Douglas Robbins
Psycho – Fabia Sabella
Quill – Edward Hicklin
Sect – Andrew Fitzgerald
Silhouette – Lukas Hassel
Stateside – Brett Scieszka
Stay the Night – Christopher Courtner
The Adversary – James Hicks
The bones of Mary Elwes – Ron Mitchell
The Enemy Upstairs – Mary Selfridge
The Highway Man -James McIlwaine
Thirty Days of Red – Geraldine Solon
Treacherous – Ethan Williams
Visions In Amber – Carlos Perez
We Became Ghosts – Daniel Stine
Zero Tolerance – Robert Dorian

Television Script – Half Hour

Angie Tribeca – TriSpeca – Alex Klein
Betting On Her – Dawn Saucier-Green
Bojack Horseman: You Can’t Make Him Not Drink – Alex Newman
Brians! – Mik Paul
Frank Fetus, NICU – Hamilton Mitchell
Girl Meets World – “Girl Meets Mentor” – Nic Mirabelli
Isabelle’s Sarting To Happen – Paul Haddad
Large Efficiency – Glenn Ledbetter
Loyal Royals – Sonia Gumuchian
Man Up – Mark Perlick
Maniac – Greg Mania
Mental State – Christina Delia
My Two Friends – George Stumpf
Out Of Brooklyn – Debi Calabro
past my Prime – joseph Silfen
Roger That – Shaina Wottitz
Sitcom Erotdrac – Gerardo Abreu Bribiesca
The Big Bang Theory – ‘Shooting Stars’ – Lynn Timmons
The Black Pope – Maurizio Lai
Under the Influence – Louis Tripodes
Wingdad – Eric Weber
Young Adults -Matthew Neff

Television Script: One Hour

Altered – Jocelyn osier
Beyond The Rim – Sean Shkurhan
Dark Horizons – Carlo Carere
Drones – Anthony Alleyne
End of Life – Sean Collins-Smith
f7/f2 – Ana Loes
Flying Backwards – Elizabeth Gonshor
In Darkness – kevin schwartz
Insurrection – simon bowler
Paradise Palms – Paul Haddad
Quantico: Artichoke – Leslie Lyshkov
Seaside Saints – Meghan Fitzmartin
Shiloh – Deidra Starnes
Soulhunters – Nicolas Caicoya
The Red Dogs – Mark Sims
The Selected Prime – Alex Klein
The Wedding Present – Martin Blinder
To Be Seen – Susan Hippen
Triple – Larry Lewyn
What Darkness Brings – Ross Denyer
When the World was Square – Irwin Greenstein